A Schedule Conundrum

So for this next school year, I’m facing something I’ve never faced before – a totally open schedule. I got a Mellon Award, which means that I don’t have to teach or be an assistant of any type. The plan is to get work done towards finishing my degree, which is finishing up that second QP and beginning dissertation work.

This is at once exciting and terrifying for me. I’m excited to have the time and energy to devote to my graduate work, but I fear the open schedule. I’ve never really experienced anything like that before, since I have always had something around which to plan my time. It’s always been classes, or a teaching schedule, or a job with regular hours. What do I do with an open schedule?

I’ve tried making a schedule for myself, but I’m struggling with how to do it. Big blocks of time devoted to one thing? Fifteen minute chunks of work on several different things? Do I work from home? Work from the office at school?

I’m interested in input from others who have had to make a similar adjustment. What time management strategies worked for you?

2 thoughts on “A Schedule Conundrum

  1. Cari says:

    Wow! I can’t say I have had that problem/opportunity before, but if it were me, I would probably create some sort of schedule that included a balance of leaving the house and working from home. I would also set small goals to meet each week, which would eventually add up to achieving the goals you want to achieve by the end of the award time period. Good luck!

  2. I had a similar schedule conflict when I lived in North Carolina. Most of the work I had could easily be done from home. I found that what worked best (and helped me get the most work done) was scheduling myself daily office hours where I went in and worked on whatever project I was focusing on at the time. I had to kind of trick myself into thinking I had a normal “office” job, but it worked out well. When I tried to do the majority of work at home I’d get easily distracted.

    David is the same way. He has to go elsewhere to get any serious work done. The house is just too busy and full of other things that you could be doing!

    I do a similar thing on my days off. Like, for example, between 2am and 3am is writing time – either outlining or actually sitting down and making myself actually write a post. That’s harder because I can’t leave the house (no more laptop and no 24 hour coffee shop up here! QQ)

Leave a Reply

