what’s an eLinguist anyway?

An eLinguist is a rare breed of linguist that does digital fieldwork. They scour blog comments, lurk in chat rooms, compile corpora of e-mail list postings, scan Twitter feeds, and chatlog in online games. They are intrepid pioneers of the venerable field of linguistics, seeking to apply their learnings to the vast and sometimes scary digital world.

 

I am such a linguist. My digital fieldwork is done in the World of Warcraft community, although I extend my sights outside of it. My greatest love is studying new word formation, and the use of these new words (and spellings) as identity markers.

 

This blog is my story.

 

Leave a Reply

